Ski Tripper

For all that’s going on at Lake Tahoe

Top 5 Lessons Learned from Skiing

It’s the end the of the year, when everyone comes out with their top 10 lists (mimicking David Letterman’s famous comedic bit). Not wanting the magazines and newspapers to have all the fun, I’ve compiled a list of the top 5 things I’ve learned about life from skiing this past year.

1. As I make my way down the mountain, I don’t always know what lies ahead on the trail. A patch of moguls might be lurking around the next turn, or the trail might sneakily switch from a blue to a black. I’ve learned that I need to forge onward without stopping and trust that I’ll make it to the bottom unharmed. In this shaky economy, a lot of us are feeling on edge; I’ve learned to stay focused and look down the mountain.

2. As soon as I think I am going to fall, I’ll fall.  How’s that for proof of the power of positive thinking?

3. Those who stay on the bunny slope miss the best views from the mountain. I could happily ski on the simple runs forever, perfecting my form and feeling confident. But as in life, we need to attempt the tougher stuff in order to improve. Hence, I’ve heard the advice, “If you didn’t fall, you didn’t try hard enough.” By pushing ourselves, we’ll be rewarded with a feeling of satisfaction and glimpses of spectacular vistas not available to those who linger at the base of the hill.

4. Whether it’s on the chairlift, in the lodge or on the Bay Area Ski Bus, skiing is a great way to meet new people who share common interests. We all share a passion and enthusiasm for the sport and the great outdoors. Some of the nicest people I’ve ever met have been fellow skiers.

5. Normally my brain is filled with constant chatter and endless worries, but skiing forces me to stay focused on what I am doing. On the mountain, I experience those precious and rare zen occasions when I’m fully absorbed in the moment. If my mind wanders, the mountain teaches me to not let my thoughts stray.

December 31, 2008 - Posted by | Tips & Advice | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

